Sips and Suppers: Great Eats, Great Cause!

img_4041
Here I am with acclaimed Chef Jose Andres at the Newseum. Photography by Kang Hu of PIXofDC

Celebrated chefs, mixologists, and philanthropists convened together inside the highly decked out Newseum to combat hunger and poverty in Washington D.C. A weekend after the presidential inauguration, I was fortunate to join hundreds of foodies to gather for this two-day culinary event designed to raise vital funds for DC Central Kitchen and Martha’s Table. As soon as I walked through the doors, I was enamored by the meat croquettes, macaroons, bratwursts, floral pizza buns, and savory meatballs. I was also kindly greeted with a spruced up cocktails and shots from Circa, Fainting Goat, Tico, and Gordon Biersch.

img_4042
The macaroon tower matches my dress! Picture courtesy of Kang Hu, PIXofDC

After getting my fill, I traipsed over to VIP. I wanted to see the great Alice Waters, founder of the organic food movement, and Jose Andres, creator of my favorite bar of all time–Barmini. I was honored to have met Jose Andres, who was both personable and friendly. He was about to go on stage but I caught up with him in the nick of time. He, as well as Waters, are the honorary chairs of this two-day event. Fighting hunger and poverty is a near and dear cause for Andres, Waters and also Joan Nathan, an award-winning American cook book author known for her style of Jewish cooking.

“Sips and Supper” is renown across the area for having the region’s finest food and drink, prepared by renown chefs, restaurants, mixologists, distilleries, and artisans. Over 1,000 guests mingled, and enjoyed mouth-watering treats from restaurants including China Chilcano, Declaration, Indique, and Lincoln, to name a few; and, creative cocktails from Gina Chersevani, Catoctin Creek Distilling Co., District Distilling Co., One Eight Distilling, Quarter+Glory, and Quill, among others.

img_4046
 The magical men behind PX, an enigmatic Speakeasy located in the heart of OldTown, Alexandria. Picture courtesy of Kang Hu, PIXofDC

After meeting Jose Andres, I wanted to check out the Party-vators. Lo and behold, I ironically was able to cross off something from my bucket list.

I can finally say that I have had  libations (swanky drinks) from PX, the enigmatic speakeasy located in a hidden region in Old Town, Alexandria. Instead of driving out of my way to Virginia, I just chilled inside of an elevator and was entertained to a show of thrown mixers in mid-air, quirky remarks, and refined drinks to a packed elevator. Not only that, the elevators were made out of this plexiglass so party-goers were also able to see various floors with specialized exhibits. If you look closely at my picture, you may recognize the Berlin wall in the background.

VIP guests enjoyed early entry to the exclusive VIP lounge, indulging in a selection of dishes from critically acclaimed local Michelin Bib Gourmand recipients Kyirisan, Bidwell, Doi Moi, and Boqueria. VIP guests also enjoyed an exclusive spirit tasting.

img_4049
Picture Courtesy of Kang Hu, PIXofDC

The following day,  philanthropists across DC came together for Suppers prepared by the nation’s most acclaimed chefs in the homes of over 35 generous hosts. Sad to say that I was unable to go to part 2 of this delicious event.

img_4051
Picture courtesy of Kang Hu, PIXofDC

Guests has the privilege of also perusing various floors in the museum. I actually saw the meat dress Lady Gaga wore one year to the MTV awards, and various other garments from the past. What caught my eye was Former President Bill Clinton’s saxophone. Who knew this piece of history was showcased at the Newseum? If you go on youtube and type in Bill Clinton on his saxophone, you may find a clip of him on the “Arsenio” show  (youtube can be a great time machine, sometimes.)

Aside from getting happily lost inside the museum, Sips &Suppers successfully raised  over $600,000 providing significant funding for the organizations’ anti-hunger, healthy eating, and education programs. I was happy to be a part of this great charity event! I hope to go back again next year.

Leave a Reply

