D.C Fashion Week 2015: International Flare & Beyond!

Fashion week 2015 103 D.C Fashion week was a memorable experience for me. I started the festivities by networking at Dirty Martini Bar in Dupont. From there I met the ceo of Meta Cartel, and was instantly plunged into the world of streetwear starting with his Victorian styled hats that come in three different versions. Readers, friends, and frenemies, tune in for an exclusive interview with this gifted entrepreneur who is still an Econ student at University of Maryland College Park.

The pains of being a South Asian hobbit...
The pains of being a South Asian hobbit…

Aside from interacting with upcoming designers, I was partially entertained by a red haired creature who claimed to be an entertainer of some sort. I guess from all the schmoozing, moving around, and flash-photography, it was easy for me to be entertained by silly children.

Fashion week 2015 138

The next day, my adorable friend and I went to the International Haute & Modesty Show held at the Washington Architectural Foundation.

Fashion week 2015 116 The one designer who captivated my heart that day was Dian Pelangi. Pelangi is an Indonesian Fashion designer that is internationally famous for her jackets. In fact, before D.C Fashion week,she held a show for New York Mercedes Benz Fashion week this year. It takes 3+ months for her to weave each jacket, let alone, hand design the whole thing. From where I sat, her jackets sparkled and radiated a magical verve. Tune into Best of Baltimore Blog and Best of Washington D.C Online for exclusives on this event.

The models worked the runway hard and did an impressive job. DC Fashion week 2015 was memorable.
The models worked the runway hard and did an impressive job. DC Fashion week 2015 was memorable.

Saturday I was snowed in so I was unable to go the show highlighting fashionable accessories and jewelry but I was able to brave the weather for Sunday’s show. Carnegie Library was bursting with D.C’s most fashionable and most influential bloggers, socialites, and influencers. I was humbled to be in the audience.

I am hoping that after you watch the slide show I made you may feel at least 1/10 of the emotions I had at Sunday’s show.That show moved me to actual tears. I was, literally, crying. I couldn’t stop. The outfits were incredibly beautiful. Designers from New york, Poland, Africa and Asia wove beautiful raiments that D.C royalty would wear. In many ways, Sunday’s show rivals shows held in New York Mercedes Benz Fashion week.

I made a friend at the show!
I made a friend at the show!

Each designer present had magical fingers or something because the garments they designed were too remarkable for me to even write up. I will highlight the following designers you should pay extra attention too in the near future: Corjor International, Leighel Desiree, Irena Levkovych (internationally famous Polish designer), and Sera Vero Nik. 

Fashion week 2015 169

Ean Williams, the creator behind D.C Fashion week,  knows how to throw a beautiful fashion show. D.C is internationally famous for its fashion and this is all thanks to Williams tireless efforts, ingenuity, and intelligence.Fashion week 2015 206

As I said before, tune into Best of Baltimore Blog & Best of Washington D.C Online Magazine for a richer, more refined review comprised of slideshows, videos, and exclusive interviews from the greats behind this fantastical show.

Fashion week 2015 264

One Comment Add yours

  1. jussbyjs says:

    Did you get my email with the image from DCFW? It was a picture of you and your associate.

Leave a Reply

