How to Throw a Fancy Birthday

February 2015 images 047

If you love parties that ooze effulgence then consider throwing a fancy birthday party (or birthday events) for your birth month. This year I decided to luxuriate myself with fun activities this year. In fact, some of these treat yo’ self moments would have befitted Tom and Donna (Parks and Recreation reference).

My Birthday this year was a panoply of memorable events, foods, and gifts. I started celebrating it February 3rd when the Washington Caps took on the Los Angeles Kings. The caps had a strong offensive as well as a defense and totally humiliated the Kings. I can see why Backstrom is loved like a deity at these games. It’s like he has magical arms or something?

February 2015 images 015 February 7th I trecked all the way to Northern Virginia for it’s annual Chocolate Festival. Imagine an an entire day of chocolate tastings? It was pure bliss. Any bon vivant would’ve contested that any festival rife with chocolate fountains, rosemary infused chocolate bites and white chocolate mousse squares can conjure up happy endorphin-rich moments.

February 2015 images 049After the Chocolate Festival prematurely ended, I had a full Korean BBQ/ Sushi meal fit for a queen. Each tangy, spicy dish adhered to everything that I love in a meal. Kimchi, meat, and more kimchi. Yechon has a large sampling of different Korean and Japanese dishes were peerless to several other dishes I’ve had in the Northern Virginia area. One bite of Yechon’s bulgogi will render you speechless or full, whichever tickles your fancy.

February 2015 images 028February 8 was teeming with stuff to do. Around 10 a.m, I had a delicious Birthday Brunch at Mosaic Cuisine & Cafe in Rockville, Maryland. I was able to get 20 of my favorite peeps to come have waffles and bacon with me.

birthday brunch with friendsI was able to successfully orchestrate this event because the managers at Mosaic are amazing. Despite the fact that this highly sought after brunch spot has select seating, upper management warmly welcomed everyone and insisted we take our time. I totally felt at home at this place and devoured everything on my plate. They really do perfect French-style brunch at this cafe. My friends were also dazzled by Mosaic’s top notch food and services too.

hira playing poolAfter the convivial brunch, we all ambled on over to our friend Brian’s apartment complex where there was a pool table, fooseball, darts, and an open bar. The party became epic in titanic proportions after a couple rounds of pool, and karaoke. pretty artMy good friend Kamila Kokosynska had a delicious art gallery opening at VisArts in Rockville, Maryland. It has been said that her oil paintings radiate with candor, complexity and with warm emotions. I know whenever I take a long gander at one of her oil paintings, I quickly get enmeshed into its world and feel melancholy when I have to leave. Come to her art exhibit which is open until March 2015. I bet you will find the perfect painting for your office right there.

February 2015 images 038After luxuriating myself in Kamilla’s fine art exhibit (which had sweet white wine and hor dourves) I went to Delaware to see Tom Green perform his latest stand up act. Ironically enough, Tom sang “Just a Friend” by Biz Markie and even had this Hip Hop great’s hit single on repeat. I call this ironic because I love Biz Markie and had no idea Tom had similar feelings for him too.

I’ve been a fan of Tom Green’s since he had that ridiculous Bum Bum song out on TRL. I was totally nervous about meeting him but he was really nice. He noticed how patient I was when it came to waiting for him to autograph my Hello Kitty usb keychain and he even said that he noticed me and not to worry. He really does treat his fans well, even nervous fans like myself.

Parsing through this entry, many of you may think that I don’t know what the word ‘Fancy” means since most of what I detailed does not sound fancy. Within this context, Fancy means making me feel like a queen. I felt like royalty this week thanks to my bf, friends, and loved ones.

Hope these ideas help you out when you have to throw a picky Queen a fancy schmancy party. If not, sucks to be you.


Leave a Reply

