National Book Festival 2013: Lectures, Food Trucks, and Super-LONG Lines

Christopher Buckely, Author of "Thank you for Smoking"---remember that movie with Aaron Ekhart?
Christopher Buckely, Author of “Thank you for Smoking”—Remember that movie with Aaron Ekhart?

The National Book Festival comes by once a year and I wanted to catch it this time around. I’m saddened that I missed Linda Ronstadt on Saturday but did enjoy Christopher Buckley’s narrative on his experiences, life, and great works; Too bad I missed his segment on “Thank you for Smoking,” a book that he wrote that also became a highly amusing movie in 2005.  After hearing Buckley speak, I will definitely be on the look out for that book at my local thrift store (the books sold at the book fair were not only exorbitant but almost criminally priced).

Why do I always wear the color pink? Trying too hard to be girly I suppose..
Why do I always wear the color pink? Trying too hard to be girly I suppose..

On this beautiful Fall day, I decided to wear bright pink lipstick (Maybelline) with my hot pink Express top and  stretchy, black slacks from Marshalls.  My amateur attempts at fashion are paying off since celebs and pseudo-celebs wear alot of bright pink lipstick at movie premiers and fashion shows. I mean, look at Krysten Ritter, Katie Perry, and Mindy Kaling, who often glob  pepto-colored-gunk on their lips like it’s a life or death situation.

Manil Suri, math professor at UMBC, is a highly lauded author from Silver Spring Maryland
Manil Suri, math professor at UMBC, is a highly lauded author from Silver Spring Maryland

After reading “The Namesake” by Jhump Lahiri, i’ve been on the lookout for clever novels written by Indian American authors. Luckily enough, I caught the tail-end of Manil Suri’s reading on his newest book “The City of Devi.” His passionate read coupled with his colorful anecdotes, has made me a fan of his work.

A queue of food trucks out by the D.C monument. Nom-fest 2013
A queue of food trucks out by the D.C monument. Nom-fest 2013

After hopping from one lecture to another, my good friend Rachel and I were ravenous for real food. Yeah we gobbled down a hot dog but we wanted something more substantial. Behind the hot dog stand we ventured into, we saw a lovely queue of food trucks ranging from Lebanese cuisine all the way to organic Mexican food.  Our eyes were hungrier than our bellies since our hike down to the queue quashed our hunger pangs: somehow?

Aside from taming our unpredictable bellies, we traipsed over to the book signing stations and were dismayed by the long lines drawn up for these known (unknown) authors. I get that some people think Giada DeLaurentis is a great chef ( yeah, her Italian cuisine is kinda prosaic), but is it really worth waiting 2 hours in line to get her autograph? I highly doubt her talents deserve such an ardent fan base.

Later on, Rachel and I decided to go to free children’s book at the kid’s section. I want to give my free books to my bestie’s little ones while Rachel was saving some books for close family members.  The queue drawn up for that section appeared long but quickly vanished in 15 minutes. It was totally worth the wait since we were able to get quality books worth $20.00+ for the price of free.

After we lost like 200 calories that day (we walked ALOT), we lounged under a great big oak tree and vowed to read twice as many books as we did before! Yay for being book nerds!

Leave a Reply

