Founding Farmers: Best Brunch Place in Potomac

Delicious beignets from Founding Farmers
Delicious beignets from Founding Farmers

Epicureans, alike, love quality food. When it comes to brunch, many like to flock to hot spots like Gertrudes in Baltimore or La Ferma in the Chevy Chase area.

Founding Farmers in Potomac is a top-notch brunch spot in the DMV that is often overlooked by its good twin located in D.C. The Founding Farmers location in Potomac is commodious, convivial, and ornate. The food, service and even the bystanders are amiable as well.

Basic breakfast platter from Founding Farmers
Basic breakfast platter from Founding Farmers

I ate here with my good friend Sion a few weekends ago. I was running on 6 hours of sleep and barely had 20 miles of gas in my car left when I arrived to our brunch date. The weather was scorching that day and the only thing that made me forget about the weather was Founding Farmer’s hibiscus juice. It was oh so good!

Happy after I drank the hibiscus juice
Happy after I drank the hibiscus juice

Sion ordered eggs benedict while I ordered a basic breakfast platter comprised with eggs, bacon, a scone and hashbrowns. I was impressed with my quotidian meal and even more impressed with my unique coffee drink.  The restaurant is owned by a collective of American Farmers, who strive to educate people that: The products and services of family farmers, ranchers, and fisheries and to educate the public about the long-standing connection between farmers and their historic stewardship of natural resources.

In short, if you are a pretentious hipster, you will LOVE this place. Hipsters love to know where their food comes from and love to be the first to find hotspots like Founding Farmers.

After Sion and I pigged out, we ordered a lush cheesecake and moist beignets as dessert. The cheesecake was airy, sweet and made with affection.  The beignets were mouth-watering, sweet, and soft. It was made just right and I had a ball dipping them into freshly made chocolate and caramel sauces.

I felt like a princess for the day, even though I was running on 6 hours of sleep. I highly recommend this hotspot if you ever have a hankering for homemade beignets. In fact, these beignets taste much better than the ones I had at Cafe Du Mond in Louisiana.  Now that’s saying alot, huh!

Leave a Reply

