Aries Spears at DC Improv: He Sorta Mentioned Me In His Act

I'm with Aries Spears at the DC Improv
I’m with Aries Spears at the DC Improv

When I was little (littler than now) I watched copious amounts of MadTV. That show  not only made my Saturday nights exciting but it also made me an ardent fan of multiple stars. I’m such a hardcore fan that I want to see most of them at the DC Improv–ASAP! For instance, last weekend I saw Bobby Lee strip down and grind on a struggling actor from the D.C area and this week, I saw Aries Spears deride this curmudgeon in a white fedora for never laughing at his jokes.

Before Spears went on stage, he ambled around the venue and assessed the crowd.

My bf recognized him right away since he recognized him from his “Arnold Schwarzenegger” clips. I was star-struck, scared and nervous. He, as well as Biz Markie, are the only two celebrities I have ever been super anxious around. Spears oggled me, since I instantly recognized him. Spears walked towards me but stayed to the side.

I was freaking out. OMG! Aries Spears, the man who impersonated Denzel Washington, DMX and Jay-Z, was just around the corner. I glanced away due to nerves and he promptly knew I noticed him. He later grew bored of the crowd and went behind the stage, waiting for his opening act to finish.

Right after his opening act went on, he triumphed on stage with jokes hurled against every demographic, race and even gender preferences. As soon as he glanced towards me, he transitioned his jokes from picking up women at the club to Indian men being shady and gross. He commented that he relished how diverse his audience was and that he even saw an Indian in a corner (ME). He later added that he thinks that Indian women are the most beautiful in the world but the men are gross, shady and weird.

I was flattered and bashful over the audience staring at my direction. Aries Spears is hilarious! Seeing him live and in his freshest form, was a great conclusion to my active weekend.

Besides seeing Aries Spears at the DC Improv, I ate fabulous brunch at Gertrudes in the Baltimore Museum of Art, volunteered at the Miss Exquisite International 2013 Pageant and sampled divine pate from Trois Petits Cochons.

Amina Gilyard, Miss Exquisite International 2013, and me at Double Tree Hotel by Logan Circle.
Amina Gilyard, Miss Exquisite International 2013, and me at Double Tree Hotel by Logan Circle.

My friend Amina Gilyard and her partner in crime Angel McCoy spearheaded the Miss Exquisite International DC Pageant this year. It was a lovely show full of vendors, music, and four amazing women in the DMV who were crowned as Miss/ Mrs. Exquisite International DC. Stretch from WKYS hosted this event with Gilyard to a packed audience full of friends, family and strong-minded business owners. I was happy to volunteer that day since it was a hallmark for legions of women. Moreover, given my jam-packed weekend, I figured I needed a brunch break.

photo(10)
Eggs benedict on hash at Gertrudes inside the Baltimore Museum of Art

On Saturday I had a scrumptious brunch at Gertrudes, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art. I ordered Eggs Benedict on hash and my bf ordered chocolate chip pancakes. I wanted to try something new so I ordered Gertrude’s famous Lemon Sage Soda. Honestly, that stuff tasted like moldy soup and I regretted that order. The decor inside Gertrudes was fancy, modern and hip. I can easily see why it’s a top brunch spot in the city.

After brunch, I drove straight to Rodman’s in D.C where I sampled some amazing pate from Trois Petits Cochons. I’ve eaten pate at several restaurants but the pate from Trois Petits Cochons was exemplary. If you are ever in the Friendship Heights area, please pick this and some Grashoff Belgian Chocolate sauce at Rodman’s. In fact, why not have your own brunch soiree at your home?

Introspective Thoughts For The Week

  •  This year’s Rock the Bells will have a hologram of Old Dirty Bastard along side the Wu Tang Clan. I feel sorry for the special effects team behind this feat since the team behind the 2Pac hologram went BANKRUPT!
  •  If you love “North and South” and want to watch a show that is akin to this beloved BBC show watch Little Dorrit.
  •  Forget Gangnam Style, forget the Harlem Shake. Let’s bring back The Carlton!
  • Starbucks double shot espresso is singular, tasty and a great way to embark on a lackluster day.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Ivory T. Holloway says:

    When I came to Rodman’s in D.C, I sampled some amazing pate from Trois Petits Cochons. I’ve been to many restaurants and that, by far, was the best pate I ever ate. If you are ever in the Friendship Heights area, please pick up this and some Grashoff Belgian Chocolate sauce. Why not have your own brunch soiree at your home?

Leave a Reply

