Action Editors Interviewed Sherryn Daniel’s Blog on Surpassing 200,000 Hits

A few weeks ago, I was honored to have been interviewed by Jen Kuhn, head editor from Action Editors. Sherryn Daniel’s Blog recently made her “Blogs We Love” column due to its recent successes. This blog, founded in October 2009, used to average between 1-5 readers a day. I had a low following and no readers back then. But after I stepped up the game, feverishly worked on amping my writing skills and dogged down major interviews over the years, this humble blog spawned a rich following. I now average between 350-525 readers a day, and have surpassed 200,000 hits.

It’s a major milestone for this website since it came from humble beginnings. Kuhn, a talented writer, asked unique questions that could only yield resonant answers that can also help novice bloggers improve. Blogging may be an easy hobby to start but it’s not an easy venture to improve. Hard work, talent, and skill come into play with this endeavor.

Here’s an excerpt from Jennifer Kuhn’s interview with me about Sherryn Daniel’s Blog:

Definitely worth a bookmark, Daniel’s blog pulls together unexpected finds from the D.C./Baltimore restaurant scene, music reviews and interviews, and local arts and events. With over 300 visitors per day (in fact, the blog just passed the 200,000 unique visitors mark this week), Daniel is adept at dishing up frank opinions and suggestions about where to grab grub, what venues to check out, and how to fill up a weekend calendar for her readers. If you are in or visiting the DMV or Baltimore areas, check out her blog for pointers on what’s worth scoping out.

We interviewed Sherryn on what it took to get her now-successful and well-respected blog up and running and asked her for pointers on breaking into the blogosphere.

Jennifer from Action Editors (AE): How long have you been blogging and what inspired you to get started?

Sherryn: Technically, I started to blog in 2008. I made this website called Sherryn’s Entertainment Reviews in college because I used to go to a lot of concerts. I stopped the blog because I lost interest in the topic. By the end of 2009 I created Sherryn Daniel’s blog, which primarily covers food, music, and self-help topics. I’ve consistently been blogging since 2009 this time and haven’t stopped since. What inspired me to consistently blog was self improvement. I had just graduated from college and wanted to perfect my writing skills. I figured blogging would do the trick, and it did!

AE: How did you build up your readership?

Sherryn: Sometimes I feel like it’s luck, but then there’s this great saying I love, which is: “the harder I work, the luckier I get.” I worked very hard to get to where I am. I taught myself new words, read up on social media strategies, and read a lot of books. Readers won’t flock to poorly written blogs, which is why I had to pour in so much effort into my website. Over time, my website’s readership grew exponentially.

AE: How are you able to land interviews with busy and famous performers, restaurateurs, and others?…

READ THE REST OF THE INTERVIEW HERE!

 

Leave a Reply

