Willy Wonka is Real: David’s Signature Beyond Gourmet Jelly Beans

David Klein, the original creator of JellyBelly’s, has done it again. His signature beyond gourmet jelly beans have eked out the gourmet industry and his lovely beans are at the top tier of its’ pyramid.

After 30 years he is now back with “David’s Signature Beyond Gourmet Jelly Beans”. Unlike traditional jelly beans currently found in the marketplace, David’s ‘Beyond Gourmet’ Jelly Beans doesn’t have  artificial flavors or colors.

It’s the first confectionery product of its kind that  blends exotic cuisine and luxury candy. Jelly Bean enthusiasts will be able to savor each bean and experiencing the world’s finest and most exotic spices, herbs, roots, flowers, fruits, and nuts specific to world cultures.

I can attest to these beans being one-of-a-kind since I tried  a sample selection sent from Amazon.com. I’ve been eating jelly beans for a very long time and these beans are something extraordinary. Normally jelly beans are, smaller, super chewy, and have more of an artificial taste. Yet these beans are quite large in size, easy to chew and taste like something from Willy Wonka’s factory.

Do you remember  “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”? You know, the 1970’s version and not the lame one starring Johnny Depp? In the movie, his candy would taste the way you dream it would taste and take your mouth, mind, and heart into an enthralling sensory adventure.

Each jelly bean is meant to be savored, not clumped with other beans into a messy nosh-fest.  David’s Signature Beyond Gourmet Jelly Beans are catered for adults and not children, even though it’s reminiscent of the Willy Wonka movie, it’s meant to be eaten in a mature, refined way.

The Amazon.com selection didn’t have Wasabi, chipotle, thai chili and other notable flavors. Nonetheless, it did have: black cherry, grape, blueberry, bacon, himalayan sea salt, lemon, orange punch, ginger, root beer, pomegranate, cranberry, coconut, vanilla bean, green apple, peach and strawberry.

Since I am super picky with what I eat, I will just review my favorites!

Jelly Bean Review

1.) Himalayan Sea Salt: It was light pink in appearance, and was easy to chew like the rest of the jelly beans. The sweet and salt combination threw me at a curve ball, at first, but after gnawing, noshing, and chewing on it for awhile: I started to like it. This flavor is not for undefined taste palates, and is more geared towards people who are receptive to haute-cuisine.

2.) Blueberry: I adored the deep blue color and the sugary bite it gave. I felt like I was biting into a real blueberry and not one of this artificial candy-ish ones. I really enjoyed the soft yet creamy after taste it gave and am actually craving some right now as we speak. YUM!

3.) Grape:  I was terribly nervous about trying this flavor. I’ve had painful experiences eating a lot of grape flavored candies, foods, and even beverages. I was terrified of that medicinal aftertaste, most grape candies have. Much to my surprise, that didn’t happen at all. It tastes like a real grape. The deep purple color was enticing and its soft yet rich taste enamored me instantly. Way to go Dave!

4.) Black Cherry: Rich color and decadent taste. It tastes like an actual black cherry and also didn’t have a medicinal after taste too. I wish there was a wine and jelly bean pairing guide, because I can see it pairing well with a fine Merlot.

5.) Bacon: The most controversial flavor. If you are into meat, than this is for you. If not, pass it up. I love meat so this bean was perfect for me. It tastes like real bacon drenched in a maple syrup sauce. I felt like I was eating real bacon for a second.

6.) Ginger:  Tastes like your are biting into raw ginger tinged with sugar. The light yellow color and biting taste left me an indelible impression that won’t go away. And this is a good thing since I like Ginger and Ginger likes me.

7.) Pomegranate: Have you ever eaten pomegranate? Ever sucked into those precious seeds and had the juice replenish your thirst and replete your savory senses? Well you don’t even need to eat a whole pomegranate to that sensation. Just eat one bean and let your mouth get tricked into eating that taut yet juicy fruit. Wowza!

8.) Cranberry: I liked how strong the taste was. It was great and didn’t give me a bitter, acidic aftertaste that most cranberry juices give too. I also tasted floral and wood notes in between chomping on this bean too. Deliciouso!

9.) Green Apple: Generally, I ate green apple flavored items. I hate the artificial taste it gets. Luckily for me, this bean doesn’t break my tongue in half. It tastes like an actual green apple and the taste develops into your mouth. It starts of soft, and ends in a some-what tart conclusion.

10.) Strawberry: Om Nom Nom. It reminded me of a strawberry shortcake dessert and i adored the medium pink shade adorned with white speckles. So creative, so Yum-liscious.

11.) Vanilla Bean: The cream color and brown speckles reminded me of vanilla ice cream. It even tasted like vanilla ice cream too and the taste doesn’t evaporate from your mouth too. It was reminiscent of home-churned ice cream made in the past and I felt like I was time traveling for a second. What a magical bean!

12.) Coconut: Best tasting coconut bean I ever had.  It tastes like real coconut milk and had a silky, creamy, smooth taste running around my mouth. For a second, I felt like I was drinking expensive coconut milk from a gourmet food store. It tricked me, I swear.

I hope to try out the habenero, wasabi and chipotle chilli one day. For now, I am in a jelly bean reverie thanks to David Klein’s amazing blend of gourmet beans. Kudos Dave on a job well done!

Leave a Reply

