Have gross hair? Well, it’s your fault and this is why..

If you have gross hair, then I feel sorry for you. I really do. I don’t feel sorry for Freida Pinto ( pictured above) since her hair is quite awesome and pretty. It looks like she’s not only born with awesomely thick, luscious, shiny hair but also takes good care of it too.

I used to feel sorry for myself. My hair used to be gross but as you can see in the above picture, it’s healthy and full bodied. My hair has always been thick, full of volume and wavy but it was pretty gnarly a few years back. Since I didn’t take proper care of it. I used to douse it with mousse, hairspray and crisp it to death with my hair straightener. It doesn’t matter if you are born with good or bad hair, if you don’t take good care of it, it will show.

I’m proud to say that my hair is awesome. I’ve been taking really good care of it and it truly shows. I stopped dying it consistently, changed my shampoo from Pantene Pro V ( HAIR KILLER) to Matrix Biolage ( HAIR REDEEMER), and I cut back in straightening it. I’ve also changed my diet around since it’s true what they say, you are what you eat.

If you want to have better hair, then follow my advice. If you don’t agree with whatever it is I have to say then do your own research. Or better yet, just stay where you are and take pride in your notty, tangled, limp gross hair. It’s all up to you, really…

 

1.) Drop the cheap shampoo  I get that it’s a recession but you shouldn’t pinch pennies when it comes to your hair. Cheap shampoos like Garnier Fructis, Pantene Pro V ( that shampoo seriously ruined my hair), Head and Shoulders, Herbal Essence,  Suave, Alberto Vo5, Flex, Dove, Revlon, Pert plus,  TreSemme, Loreal, and any other generic brands. Cheap shampoos are always the ones that list water as the first ingredient and have a higher PH level ( nasty chlorine). Cheaper shampoos also usually have sulphate and paraben which can strip hair of natural oils.

2.) Eat right, not wrong.  Did you know that eating too many unhealthy meats, junkfood related items can also damage your hair? Your tresses are also dependent on what you eat and not eat.  If you want long, thick, healthy hair then eat more of the following.

  •  Dark green vegetables
  •  Beans
  • Nuts
  • Poultry
  • Eggs
  • Oysters
  • Whole Grains
  • Carrots
  • Low-fat dairy products                    

3.) Your shampoo has that many chemicalsThere are eons of commercials indundating tv screens about so many different kinds of shampoos being able to FIX your hair. But remember that this is a health-halo effect taking place. Not all beauty products are good for you and many tend to be full of harmful chemicals that will contribute to long-term health effects. There are so many shampoo brands full of harmful chemicals that will do more harm than good for your hair. Next time you go shampoo shopping, please be wary of the following chemicals ( also click on this link if you want a further explanation over why it’s bad for you).

  • Parabens
  • Imidazolidinyl urea
  • Formaldehyde
  • Fragrance
  • FD & C Colour Pigments
  •  DEA, MEA, TEA
  • Sodium Laurel Sulphate
  • Polyethylene glycol
  • Propylene glycol
  • Isopropyl Alcohol

Try to stick with natural ingredients…please?

4.) Trim those dead ends frequently.  Split ends are nasty little parts that try to destroy the root of your hair. If you don’t get your hair trimmed frequently, than you will get more of them. Also, the more you trim your hair the more often it will grow since your hair is being maintained frequently.

5.) Please brush it daily. Combing your hair daily is a must ( especially if you have long hair) since it detangles and straightens out your strands. The less often you comb it, the more often it will get notty, damaged and gnarly. It’s common sense but I guess some people are just not aware of it.

6.) Tight ponytails increase the chances of premature balding.   Tight pony tails are cute once in awhile but not everyday. In fact, tight ponytails most likely going to prevent strands of your hair from growing. It inhibits your hair from growing back. So please remeber that and don’t go overboard with this fad.

7.) Too much heat can suffocate your hair.  Your lovely tresses are not born with any protective thermal that will prevent it from getting damaged. I’m so sorry to break the news to you and to your beloved hair dryer.  Styling tools like blow dryers, straighteners, curlers, etc., apply high levels of heat into your hair. Thus, leaving it vulnerable to split ends, damaged cutical layers, increased dryness and an uneven chemical structure. I’m not saying to cut back on this completely ( sometimes your hair is way too effed up that you need to tame that tiger), but try to cut back in the time you spend on working miracles with your hair.

Well, there you have it. If you follow these tips then you will most likely see improvement with your own hair. If you have any other tips you would like to share, please comment below..

4 Comments Add yours

  1. MaryAsk says:

    Thank you so much for the tips :). It is so important to have a beautiful and healthy hair… I like my hair straight and I have tried different brands of products, now i’m using a very good straightener that leaves the hair soft, shiny and super straight, it’s the Karmin G3 Salon Pro with ceramic tourmaline plates to help avoid hair damages, and my hair is very healthy I am very happy with the result. 🙂

  2. Casque Dre says:

    It’s basically appropriate time to make some strategies for the future and its time to be pleased. Ive examine this post and if I could I desire to advocate you couple of useful issues or advice. Possibly you could write next articles referring to this post. I wish to read a lot more factors about it!

  3. Megan says:

    Okay we get you have good hair but no need to rub it in

Leave a Reply

