Best depressing indie and alternative rock tracks

I’ve always wanted to get into more genres of music. I’ve tried to embrace Soul, R&B, Country, and some Rock, but have failed to actually digest any of it. I am, however, quite partial to Pop, Alternative Rock, Indie and old school Hip Hop. I can switch from Britney Spears to Oasis to Elliot Smith and back to the Wu-Tang Clan with ease.

With that said, I do have a special preference when it comes to listening to music. I’m totally bounded to depressing indie and alternative rock ballads. I don’t know why and I don’t know how, but it’s like crack cocain for me. I can listen to it for long periods of time without feeling emotionally depleted or lethargic.

Maybe it’s the writer in me? Or maybe, inside my bubbly exterior, I have a tormented soul that could only permeate outside if I listen to sappy songs about someone’s life being pregnant with anguish. Eh. I don’t really know.

Nonetheless, i’m addicted to this brand of music. I’ve been addicted to it since sixth grade and this aspect of me will never change. Anyways, i’ve compiled a semi-comprehensive list of depressing indie and alternative rock tracks that i’m sure can lull someone into a gloomy trance. Hopefully?

1.) The Decemberists- “Engine Driver”

2.) Elliot Smith-“Can’t make a sound”

3.) The Verve-“On your own”

4.)Travis-“Writing to reach you”

5.) The Verve-“History”

6.) Coldplay-“Trouble”

7.)Oasis-“Talk to you tonight”

8.)Switchfoot-“Yesterday”

9.) Oasis-“Cast no shadow”

10.) Vast- “We will meet again”

11.)Ivy-“Undertow”

12.)Radiohead-“How to dissappear completely”

13.) Smashing Pumpkins-“Blank Page”

14.)Semisonic-“Made to last”

15.)Collective Soul-“Forgiveness”

16.) Richard Ashcroft-“Break the night with Colour”

17.)Vertical Horizon-“Best I ever had”

18.) Remy Zero-“Perfect memory”

19.)Switchfoot-“Learning to Breath”

20.) Oasis-“Stop crying your heart out”

21.)The Fray-“Never say never”

22.) Christina Perri-“Jar of Hearts”

23.)Thirteen Senses-“Into the fire”

24.)Audioslave-“Like a stone”

25.)Audioslave-“I am the highway”

26.)Paloalto-“Going going gone”

27.)Kubb-“Sun”

28.) Whitfield-“Wait”

29.)Sparklehorse-“Go”

30.)Rhett Miller-“Come around”

31.) Puddle of Mud-“Blurry”

32.) Fuel-“Bad day”

33.)Fuel-“Falls on me”

34.) Linkin Park-“In the end”

35.) Fuel-“Empty Spaces”

36.) Linkin Park-“Waiting for the end”

37.) Howie Day-” You and a promise”

38.)Travis-“Pipe Dreams”

39.) The Doves-“M62 Song”

40.) Ringside-“Tired of being sorry”

41.) Death Cab for Cutie-“I will follow you into the dark”

42.) Nada Surf-“Inside of Love”

43.) Norfolk & Western-” The shortest stare”

Ofcourse, this is not a complete list. I am always receptive into hearing new stuff (albeit depressing) and if any of you have any suggestions for me. Please comment below.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Hearing Damage – Thom Yorke
    Mumford & Sons – Thistles & Weeds
    Florence + The Machine – Hardest of Hearts, Landscape, Remain Nameless
    Lana Del Rey – Born To Die, Carmen, Dark Paradise
    The Dead Weather – Rolling In On A Burning Tire
    Young The Giant – Cough Syrup

  2. Piankhi says:

    I feel the same as you. Try Corsicana and Putting The Dog To Sleep by The Antlers.

    1. Miss Quirky says:

      Remy Zero is a great band! I wish they were still together 😦

  3. Raul says:

    D At Sea – All Over
    A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera – Say Something
    Boys Like Girls – Learning To Fall
    Five For Fighting – All I Know
    Mayday Parade – The Memory
    Sarah McLachlan – Angel
    Paramore – Franklin

    1. Miss Quirky says:

      Great suggestions!! Do you have any ideas for happy alternative rock songs?

  4. Dewette Mostert says:

    Try evanesences bring met to life

    1. Miss Quirky says:

      Great choice! Do you have anymore suggestions? I may need to make a longer list 🙂

  5. Jayden says:

    So this topic is really old, but if you ever get this message, check out ‘A Slow Descent’ by ‘Straylight Run’

    1. Miss Quirky says:

      Hi Jayden! I will definitely check this song out. Thank you so much for the suggestion 🙂

  6. Josh lewis says:

    I’m happy to see Death Cab for Cutie up there, and I love I Will Follow you into the Dark. Of course, IWFYITD was one of the more popular ones, but i think there are a few more of theirs that could be top 15 easy.
    -Tiny Vessels
    -The Ice is Getting Thinner
    -Your Heart is an Empty Room
    -What Sarah Said
    -Transatlanticism

  7. Josh lewis says:

    I think more credit needs to go to Ben Gibbard, he isnt covered by media much (vocalist/songwriter for Death Cab for Cutie and the Postal Service). I Will Follow You into the Dark is a great song, but I don’t think it was his most emotional/depressing song. He is (in my opinion) one of the most consistently poetic songwriters i’ve listened to, and he has songs that I think even top I Will Follow You into the Dark in emotional appeal.
    A few include:
    Tiny Vessels
    Title and Registration
    Transatlanticism
    Your Heart is an Empty Room
    What Sarah Said
    The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (the Postal Service)

    I apologize if I posted twice, i wasnt sure if my comment went through.

    1. Miss Quirky says:

      Josh, this is a great list! What has inspired your musical tastes over the years?

Leave a Reply

