Senator Barbara Mikulski’s Campaign Kick-Off: Morning Dues

My internship, with the MD Democratic party, gave me this once in a lifetime opportunity to trail Sen. Barbara Mikulski kick-off campaign across Western Maryland for her run in the United States Senate,  from morning to night, April 24, 2010. As with all great adventures, they always have a bumpy start, well, in my case, a time-lapsed morning…

I woke up at 6:00 a.m, got dressed but, alas, had empty wallets. I then waited for a really long time   for my Dad to sport me some gas money. I felt so guilty. Because,  at this point in my life, I should have a 9-5 job but these high unemployment rates, recession drama and complexities with already having 5-10 years of experience after graduating college, created this arduous barrier for me, a recent  graduate.

Anyways, I first drove to Rockville to pick up college friends who said they were going to help  me out with my campaign kick-off road trip  but right when I pulled my car in, they decided that they wanted to sleep in, back at their college in Baltimore. So, that last minute change of plans, and being a very broke recent grad dampened major time constraints. I was suppose to pick up the videographer for the campaign at a specific time in the B-more Harbor , but life’s unexpected follies meant  a postponed arrival.

As I drove into Baltimore, getting into the Fells point Little Italy area,  in my shoddy half-torn Hyundai Elantra, and with my dilapidated GPS device– that turns off more than it turns on– I feared offending the videographer with my poor first impression.  I was extremely lucky that she was compassionate and full of understanding. And I learned a valuable lesson, when time is an issue, you must drop your least important commitments and headbutt into your most demanding task at hand.

Also Baltimore’s topsy turvy roads, a bar of soap left in my car, and the overall clutter that polluted the back of seat, created a some-what uneven atmosphere for the first hour.  I feared the ride would make her nauseous.

We were headed to the Catoctin Aqueduct, located in Frederick County, but my flimsy GPS and our directions that we both accumulated deterred us.  Panic screamed throughout the Videographer’s phone because …

To Be Continued..

Leave a Reply

