Miss Quirky

Faso Foods: Unique finds at 2012 Summer Fancy Food Show part 8

In Business, Food on June 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

The biggest thing to hit Twitter was the pink elephant van. Very amusing, isn’t it? http://www.fasofoods.com

Yes, I met food-celebs, ate world-class fare and enjoyed mingling with other businesses.  And conversely, this show was jam-packed with unique foods, intriguing products and wonderful individuals. And now,  let me take you down a quick tour over the interesting sights and tastes I experienced over the past couple of days.

Appennin Recipes has been around for 23 years. They make a very smooth, rich and yummy truffle sauce.

Since I was at a gourmet fancy food show, I wanted to take advantage of the great foods they had there. I wandered hi and lo for anything truffle related and Appennin had what I was looking for. They used fresh black truffles and developed this even-bodied sauce that wafts of yummy goodness. Appennin sure does know how to spruce up a cracker!

21st century snacks makes acclaimed marzipan products in the New York City area. I had my first marzipan and though it wasn’t the best experience I ever had, this is a notable product. Check them out in NYC when you can

At the forefront of the fancy food show, I found 21st Century Snacks,  reputable candy company in New York City.  In like fashion, I wanted to try my very first Marzipan. I noshed on a marzipan  piece in the shape of a strawberry and though I can see what all of the fuss is about, I realize that my tastes are not mature enough to appreciate this kind of food. Nonetheless, it’s high quality goodness that should be sought after. Especially if you are in the New York City area, please check them out.

Vin’ Tucci wine infused cookies would go great with Grashoff Belgian Chocolate spreads.

Hmmm. Wine? Cookies? Wine infused in a cookie? I had to try it out, it’s a given. I never had wine-infused cookies before until I visited Vin’Tucci’s. Their wine infused cookies helmed a soft taste that compliments gourmet wines, and chocolate sauces like Grashoff’s Belgian chocolate spreads. It was a novel  find and highly recommend this brand to any Wine-O.

Tom Lisicki, President of Stash Tea, premiered his Gauyusa tea at the Fancy Food show. If it weren’t for this tea, I would be falling asleep at the Fancy Food show. It has doubt the antioxidants and theophythyline. That plus its unusual alkeloids kept me hyper and happy throughout the convention.

I wish I can say I was a morning person, but that would be a straight-forward lie. I needed something with antioxidants that can also boost my spirits throughout the day. Thanks to Guayusa Tea, I was able to work, mingle and smile. Every morning I stopped by this booth for a quick pick-me-up. Gauyusa Tea is a consummate tea-genuis. This product kept me mentally lucid for three, whole days. Check out Stash Tea’s  website here and like them on Facebook here.

Duck quessidilla? Yeah, it exists. I ate it and actually liked it.

Though I don’t have pictures for all my great finds, I want give honorable mentions to the following products: gourmet mochi filled with ice cream, gummy circles that have a gamut of vitamins,  gourmet cookies from Carolina Cookie Company and aloe juices from Tropiking.

I wanted to eat some caviar but I was too late. The people at this stand felt sorry for me so they let me try a sliver of this black truffle instead, that surely made my day.

Did you know that when you consume a food product for a long time, you grow accustomed to its color, smell and texture. Most people are used to water being white and tasting like nothing at all. Did you also know there is a brand of water that is black, tastes like nothing at all but unlike water, will hydrate you quicker and more efficiently? Well, I have a big surprise for you…

Joe Graeli from BLK. “BLK hydrates you quicker and more efficiently.”
http://www.fasofoods.com

BLK water is a new product and at first, the black water scared me. I thought it was going to taste like black licorice–BLAH! I was surprised that it tastes just like water and was impressed that it was mineral water that hydrates you quickly. Never judge a beverage product by the color of its liquid. I learned my lesson that day. Check out BLK’s website here and follow them on Twitter here.

Owner and inventor of Sun Cups.

Sun cups. Have you ever heard of Sun cups?  If not, it’s your loss. Sun cups is gluten free and the nut flavor is derived from sunflower seeds. I was quite impressed that Sun Cups is the only one of its kind in the entire world. Above all,  it’s a great way for people with peanut allergies to enjoy something resembling peanut butter cup sans bursting out with hives and allergy attacks. Great new food find! Check out there website here and like them on Facebook here.

First time I ever tried Rambutten, It was super tasty.

Some of you may ask, what did get Sherryn into gourmet food in the first place? Cabaret crackers did. I’ve always eaten Walker shortbread cookies and other gourmet foods, but it was Cabaret crackers by Dare Foods that made me realize that this was something I was passionate about.

The people behind Cabaret Cookies. Dare!

Cabaret crackers are flakey, golden and crispy. After eating these crackers, I forever hated Ritz. Ritz crackers could never compare to Cabaret since it doesn’t have a rich, supple taste. Cabaret crackers does ante-up the cracker field, ten-times over. Check out Dare Food’s website here.

Overall, I was impressed with my singular finds at this year’s Summer Fancy Food show. If you were at this year’s Fancy Food show, I was wondering what you found? Comment below. I do love engaging conversation.

About Faso Foods

Faso Foods is an international food management company supporting producers with import/export, warehousing, packaging, market research, sales and promotional activities.

We represent a diverse roster of categories including hot beverages, fruit juice, confections and grains, many of which are organic and fair trade, to fulfill the demand of the sophisticated specialty food market.

Also, Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter. You instantly get entered into a drawing. Winners of the Faso Food Social Media Contest win a case of 6 Grashoff Belgian chocolate sauces.

Part 9, the CONCLUSION is headed your way.  Stay tuned to http://www.sherryndaniel.com for more updates.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

