Miss Quirky

Faso Foods: Food Celebrities at the 2012 Summer Fancy Food show part 6

In Business, Celebrities, Food on June 24, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I met Herm Rowland, current owner of  Jelly Belly’s. He’s super funny and introduced me to a top-secret flavor. http://www.jellybelly.com

Since I am a hardcore food addict, gourmet food celebrity sightings were a must for me. In like fashion, meeting the owner’s behind Tortuga Rum Cakes and Walker Shortbread is comparable to me  meeting Tom Cruise and George Clooney for me. Yes, it was a big deal.

Subsequently after meeting the makers of Tortuga Rum Cakes and Walker Shortbread, I was fortunate enough to meet Herm Rowland, current owner and Jellybean connoisseur from JellyBellys. It would’ve been spectacular if David Klein was there since he’s the real creator and brainchild behind JellyBelly’s but, alas, beggars can’t be choosers.

I was in JellyBelly land, literally.  His section looked like  a JellyBean wonderland full of mystery, intrigue and addictive jellybeans.  I was exalted to find my favorite jellybean which  is buttered popcorn.  Naturally, my mouth rudely salivated for them.

Concurrently from meeting the current owner of   JellyBelly’s, I was about to ransack that corner for buttered popcorn jellybellys when I saw these enigmatic jellybeans near my reach. I ate 3-4 of these top secret beans and made a decision: This was the best jellybean flavor I ever had. I won’t reveal what it is, but all I have to say is if you like unique foods, this is the perfect bean for you.

Meanwhile, I was having a  great conversation with Herm Rowland, the current owner of the JellyBelly company and he was honored that I am a lifelong fan of this particular brand. He’s a very witty man and I couldn’t stop laughing at his jokes.

Wouldn’t it be great of JellyBelly’s had  Grashoff Gentleman’s dark JellyBelly? I would totally be blown if that happened.

Anyways, if you are a fan of JellyBelly then visit their website here and follow them on Facebook here,

I am with the creator of Honest Teas. Nice guy and he’s a very environmentally aware man! Great teas that go with an amazing cause :)

Within sight, Honest Tea was right near the JellyBelly stand and I decided to pay them a visit as well. Honest Tea makes the best Peach White Tea I ever had and I wanted to let them know that.  It’s also one of the best local companies run in Maryland too.

Honest tea is  the nation’s top-selling organic bottled tea company with a mission to make great-tasting, truly healthy organic beverages sweetened with less sugar and fewer calories than most bottled beverages.

I had a rich conversation with Dan Forman, from Honest Tea, and he told me that ” Honest Tea is a great company that walks the walk and talks the talk. The mission means everything to the company and we think through every step we make.”

What impressed me most about Honest Tea was their green initiative. Forman adds, ” Honest tea has been green before that trend even started.  We’ve been around for 15 years and will never waver from our own green initiative.”

If you love great tasting teas and want to support an environmentally friendly company, check them out here and like them on Facebook.

After polishing off some top-secret JellyBelly’s and some organic teas, I decided to visit another local company.

Moreover,I am not ashamed to say that I am like 75% carnivore and 25 % herbivore. With that said, I was in search of some tasty BBQ sauces.  Straight ahead, I found the Godfather of ALL Barbecue sauce brands, Pork Barrel.  The D.C/Maryland and Virginia area is fortunate to have a few Pork Barrel restaurants in the area since it’s nationally sought after.  Aside from Pork Barrel being the “IT” place to go, there’s a strong story behind the brand.

Pork Barrel creators Brett Thompson and Heath Hall were staffers for the U.S Senate, and on one faithful evening they embarked on a boisterous conversation about food options near Capital Hill. While they we were dreaming of a tasty barbecue dinner and wishing there was a good barbecue joint in Washington, D.C., Both  senators were engaged in a debate over the merits of pork barrel spending.  As a result,  an idea popped into their heads–an idea that is now a reality!

The godfather of amazing BBQ sauces, the D.C area’s very own Brett Thompson, one of the masterminds behind Pork Barrel BBQ sauce. He was on last year’s episode of “SharkTank” and they won a big prize :)

As a business major, one of my most favorite shows is  “Shark Tank”, a show about successful investors awarding novice companies enough money to start-up or expand one’s fledgling business. A few seasons ago, Pork Barrel was  awarded  a grand prize which is a strong investment behind their brand. Ever since then, the brand has been burgeoning across the U.S. In fact, Pork Barrel is a National Award winner and  is named number BBQ sauce in the country by Country Living Magazine. So many honors for such a resplendent sauce.

Brett Thompson shared some inspiring words for me that I think is great for anyone starting a business.

” We created this company during the peak of the economic crisis. With a lot of hardwork, you can achieve success.”

Check out Pork Barrel’s website here and like them on Facebook here.

About Faso Foods

Faso Foods is an international food management company supporting producers with import/export, warehousing, packaging, market research, sales and promotional activities.

We represent a diverse roster of categories including hot beverages, fruit juice, confections and grains, many of which are organic and fair trade, to fulfill the demand of the sophisticated specialty food market.

Also, Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter. You instantly get entered into a drawing. Winners of the Faso Food Social Media Contest win a case of 6 Grashoff Belgian chocolate sauces.

Part 7 is coming up. Stay tuned to http://www.sherryndaniel.com for more updates.

  1. He may be funny but he is a self center dickhead that hates kids and promotes bullying. He should rename his company Jelly bully!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

