Miss Quirky

Unloved: A story about a hairless penguin and a rejected ginger seal

In FML on September 23, 2011 at 5:19 am

People can be cruel at times, this is common sense. There are stories saturating the media about parents abandoning, beating or emotionally abusing their young.  Nonetheless,It’s not everyday when readers get to hear about animal parents being just as cruel–if not worse.

This week, I read about a hairless penguin being rejected by its family due to looking socially and physically awkward. The penguin baby was  left to die, isolated, on a lonely patch of ice. Luckily for the baby penguin, that it was able to be  nursed back to health in China’s Laioning Province by caring non-animal hands.

This  little baby was born akward and bald because it lacked supple nutrition and had an inability to digest food properly. After the baby grew feathers and started to look the way a penguin ought to look, its family started to accepted it back, with open, floppy wings.

Another animal rejected this weak was this ginger seal (yes, the sad one you see above). Along the seal colony, by Tyuleniy Island, Russia, a furry seal with reddish fur and glossy blue eyes was hiding under a pile of logs. It’s family abandoned it too. The poor seal is almost blind and was left to die–much like the hairless penguin with crying eyes.

Generally seal are supposedly dark brown and, when wet, apear almost ebony. Which is  a stark contrast with our ginger seal who has glossy blue eyes and salmon colored flippers. I’m sure, when it’s wet, will look like an angry, rabie-bitten tom cat. It’s sad that it was considered an anomaly amongst its seal family. Poor lil bugger.

Lucky for him, the rejected ginger seal found a new home at a Dolphinarium where he can be doted on. Though both the baby penguin and seal found a happy ending to their sad situation, it pains me to think how animal families are not so different from many human families.

Just Looking into their long-set eyes, pointing downward, I couldn’t help but feel remorse for them and anger for their families. Just because they were born odd doesn’t make them any less a penguin or any less a seal. Only time will tell.

  1. [...] article may not be the right read for you. If this is the case, please check out my past entries on ginger seals and The Golden Girls. I hope these entries gives you a good chuckle in the morning, after you [...]

  2. Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog site posts to maintain the readers more entertained? I imply I just go through through the entire write-up of yours and it was really great but since I’m more of a visual learner,I identified that to be more helpful nicely let me know how it turns out! I really like what you guys are always up too. These clever operate and reporting! Hold up the wonderful works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll. This is a wonderful article thanks for sharing this informative info.. I will go to your blog regularly for some latest post.

  3. Considerably, this publish is really the sweetest on this notable topic. I harmonise along with your conclusions and will thirstily search ahead to your incoming updates. Saying thanks won’t just be enough, for that phenomenal clarity within your writing. I will right grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Admirable operate and a lot success with your enterprise dealings!  Please excuse my poor English as it’s not my initial tongue.

  4. his may be the perfect blog for everyone who wants to learn about this theme. You know a lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You absolutely place a whole new spin on the matter thats been written about for a long time. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  5. Preserve ‘em coming… you all do such a wonderful job at this kind of Concepts… cannot tell you how considerably I, for one appreciate all you do!

  6. I was quite encouraged to search out this internet site. I desired to thank you for this particular go through. I definitely savored every minor little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new things you publish.

  7. That is my very first time i go to here. I discovered a lot of entertaining stuff inside your blog site, specifically its discussion. From your tons of comments in your articles, I guess I’m not the only one possessing all the satisfaction right here! Maintain up the great operate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

